6 New Recipes! – Follow Up

Here’s the follow up to the 1/29/2012 post on the Asian smorgasbord/cooking orgy from last weekend.  I’m giving you links to the original recipes along with alterations that I made.  Sorry, no pictures this time.  I’ll load pics when/if I repeat these recipes.

1.  Vegetable miso soup

My changes

I used vegetable stock and white button mushrooms, omitted the udon noodles, doubled up on all the veggies except the scallions, and used red instead of white miso paste.

2.  Malaysian potato and green bean curry

My changes

I used a small onion instead of shallots since I just hate peeling shallots, and new potatoes instead of fingerling potatoes.  Otherwise, no changes.  Oh, I did add a little extra water while the potatoes were cooking in order to have more sauce.

3.  Thai-style (-ish) veggie fried rice

My changes

I omitted the pork and fish sauce, doubled up on the bok choy and tripled the green chillies (we were itching for some really spicy food this week).  I also added a little bit of soy sauce for salt.

4.  Vegetarian ma-po tofu

My changes

I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock and omitted the pork to make this vegetarian.  I wanted to use Sichuan peppercorns but, for some reason, my excellently stocked Chinese/Korean/Japanese/Indian/Mexican… heck, it’s a world super market… did not have any in stock.  I added a little extra red chilli paste to make up for the lack of peppercorns as I wanted to keep the spice level high.

5.  Vegetable pot stickers with spicy dipping sauce

My changes

I used plain old white button mushrooms and Savoy cabbage.  Otherwise, I made no other changes to the original recipe.  Next time, I will probably reduce the amount of Chinese five spice powder to about half the suggested amount.  The pot stickers were really good, but it was just a touch too much anise for me.

Update:  I used some leftover stuffing in grilled sandwiches today.  Gotta love an electric sandwich grill/press.  I just spread a teensy bit of margarine on the outsides of the whole wheat bread slices, smeared a little green chilli chutney on the insides, generously filled the bread, and put the lid down.  Yum!

1 thought on “6 New Recipes! – Follow Up

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Menu… 6 New Recipes! | Pond Blog

Leave a comment